skip to Main Content

Toyin Tofade is Dean and Tenured Professor at Howard University College of Pharmacy. She has served in this role since August of 2016. 2017, Dr. Tofade led her faculty, staff, alumni, students and board of visitors in a strategic planning process that resulted in a 5-year plan taking effect in January 2018.

Dr. Tofade has been an active member of AACP and currently a member of the delegates. She founded the Big Ten experiential consortium group to facilitate discourse and scholarship among the big ten experiential administrators. In 2015 she was elected as Chair Elect of the Global Special Interest Group for AACP and completed her terms as Chair and Immediate Past Chair. In 2017, she was elected as treasurer of the Association of Minority Health Professions Schools (AMHPS) and in 2018 served on the ASHP Commission for goals in addressing the Opioid crises and dean’s advisory panel. In 2020, she was also appointed as a member of the ASHP Task Force on Racial Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and the selection committee for the National Academy of Sciences Pharmacy Fellowship.

From 2002 to 2011, Dr. Tofade worked at the Wake Area Health Education Center (AHEC) in North Carolina where she first served as associate director, then as director, of pharmacotherapy services. She also served as a clinical associate professor at the University of North Carolina (UNC) Eshelman School of Pharmacy in the Division of Pharmacy Practice and Experiential Education. Dr. Tofade worked at UNC hospitals for several years as a pharmacist, then as a clinical specialist on the general medicine service. She also initiated and developed the internal medicine pharmacy student rotation there.

Dr. Toyin Tofade received a Bachelor of Pharmacy from Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Nigeria, a master’s degree in pharmacy practice and a Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) degree both from UNC Chapel Hill in 1994 and 1997, respectively. She completed a residency with emphasis on clinical pharmacokinetics in 1994 from UNC Chapel Hill, and an American Society of Health-System Pharmacy-accredited residency in 1995 at UNC hospitals.

She has received numerous awards. In 2008, she was named Wake AHEC Mentor of the Year. In 2016, she received an award for Excellence and Distinction in medicine and health from the Christian Association for Nigerian Americans. In 2018 she received a Distinguished Service Award in appreciation for leadership in Pharmacy Education and presentation at the NAPPSA Scientific Conference. In 2019, her alma matter honored her with the Fred M. Eckel Leadership award.

Back To Top
×Close search

We need your help now more than ever!