skip to Main Content

Paul W. Abramowitz is the Chief Executive Officer of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).

Prior to joining ASHP in September 2011, Dr. Abramowitz worked in hospitals and health-systems for over 30 years. He served as Associate Hospital Director for Professional Services and Chief Pharmacy Officer at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, and Professor at the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. He also held prior positions as Director of Pharmacy and Associate Professor at the Medical College of Virginia and the University of Minnesota.

Dr. Abramowitz received a Bachelors Degree in Chemistry and Biology from Indiana
University, a Bachelors Degree in Pharmacy from the University of Toledo, a Pharm.D. from the University of Michigan, and completed his residency at the University of Michigan Medical Center.

In addition to serving as ASHP President in 1993-94 and as Treasurer of ASHP from 2007-10, he chaired the Boards of: the ASHP Research and Education Foundation, the Iowa Board of
Pharmacy, and the Iowa Statewide Poison Control Center.

Dr. Abramowitz has actively combined practice, teaching, and research throughout his career. He has lectured and published extensively focusing on: the effect that quality pharmacy care can
have on improving outcomes and reducing costs of care, developing new pharmacy care models, reducing adverse drug events, and expanding comprehensive medication management to all sites
of care.

He was a recipient of the John W. Webb Lecture Award in 2000 and the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award in 2009, health-system pharmacy’s highest honor. In 1990, he received the
Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Toledo College of Pharmacy, in 2010, the Alumni Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award from the University of Michigan College of
Pharmacy, and in 2015, he was recognized as one of Washington’s Trending Association Leaders by Bisnow. Dr. Abramowitz received an Honorary Doctor of Science degree from the
University of Toledo in 2013 and the Touro College and University System in 2022.

Currently, Dr. Abramowitz serves on the Boards of the American Nurses Foundation, the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board and the GTMRx Institute. He is also a member of the
National Steering Committee for Patient Safety of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement and a Professor-Emeritus at the University of Iowa.

Read his statement of support. 

Medications are a critical component in the treatment of most chronic illnesses in the U.S. Unfortunately, we continue to see patients who are not treated with the most appropriate medications, receiving less than optimal follow-up after the medications are prescribed, and experiencing prevent-able adverse events.

ASHP is committed to supporting GTMRx by adopting approaches to medication use that are patient-centric and personalized, interprofessional, and capitalize on the expertise of pharmacists as the medication experts in the provision of comprehensive medication management.

I am excited to represent ASHP on the GTMRx Board of Directors as we work together to adopt optimal approaches to medication use that improve health outcomes and reduce health care costs.”

Back To Top
×Close search

We need your help now more than ever!